Int J Performability Eng ›› 2017, Vol. 13 ›› Issue (5): 610-619.doi: 10.23940/ijpe.17.05.p6.610619

• Original articles • Previous Articles     Next Articles

NE-UserCF: Collaborative Filtering Recommender System Model based on NMF and E2LSH

Yun Wu, Yiqiao Li*, and Ren Qian   

  1. College of Computer Science and Technology, Guizhou University, Guiyang, 550025,China

Abstract: With the rapid development of big data and cloud computing, recommender systems (RSs) have gained significant attention in recent decades. However, there are still many challenges and drawbacks existed in RSs, such as complex and high-dimensional data, low recommendation accuracy, time-consuming and low-efficiency, which to a large extent restrict its applications. Non-negative Matrix Factorization algorithm (NMF) is a matrix factorization algorithm which finds the positive factorization of a given positive matrix. It can eliminate invalid and redundant features in user-rating matrix (URM), reduce URM’s dimension. Exact Euclidean Locality Sensitive Hashing (E2LSH) is an advanced algorithm for solving the approximate or exact Near Neighbor Search in high dimensional spaces. It can cluster similar-interest users (SIUs) of URM efficiently. Therefore, the authors propose an improved recommender system model named NE-UserCF (NMF-E2LSH-UserCF) based on NMF and E2LSH to improve the quality and performance of recommendation. The authors first utilize the NMF to process original URM, get a new-URM without invalid and redundant features. Then use E2LSH to cluster users in new-URM based on their interests and produce the similar-interest-user matrix (SIUM). The authors further process the Top-10 recommendations by adopting the user-based collaborative filtering algorithm (UserCF). Finally evaluate experimental results by analyzing metrics Precision, Recall, Coverage and Popularity. Experiments indicate that NE-UserCF proposed in this paper improves the quality of recommendation and has a good performance.

Submitted on April 8, 2017; Revised on July 10, 2017; Accepted on August 23, 2017
References: 29